New York City is the most populated city in New York State and in the United States. Over eight and a half million people live in the city. New York City is divided into five boroughs: The Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, and Staten Island. It is located at the southeastern tip of the state of New York. New York’s nickname is the Big Apple